top of page
Search
  • wegnerbw7395

Professional Goals?... FEMA Flexible?

Updated: Feb 26, 2021

Whew! With the conclusion of midterms last week, I wanted to share my reflections on the first half of the semester. Secondly, I want to ponder how the last few months play into my professional goals for the future. The last few months have been filled with significantly more hills and valleys than would be ideal, and I think many students could share that same adage when describing college during a global pandemic. On one hand, finishing college on my set timeline is important to me...On the other hand, keeping my head above the water financially has been a long-term goal for my education as an adult.


When I worked for the Federal Emergency Management Agency(FEMA), the phrase "being FEMA-flexible" was constantly brought up to employees as an explanation for our sometimes insanely long shifts, lack of free weekends, constant travel to various national disasters, changes in funding/professional politics, etc. Following my time in emergency management, I felt like the most flexible person in the world. I was basically able to do yoga with my intellect (or so I thought). 2020 has proved to me that I can hardly do a few minutes of beginners yoga.


In academia, I am working to pass a Statistics course that I have to devote 10-12 hours a week to, as well as balance the other courses totaling my 18 credit semester. Professionally, I am navigating a pandemic as a health care administrator, while working diligently to ensure safety to our residents and staff. Personally, I am coping with the loss of multiple people in my life who influenced me in a variety of ways. At many points over the last few months, the importance of goal clarity has been a saving grace. My long-term professional goals include getting an advanced degree in Social Work, getting a law degree, and opening a private practice focusing on LGBTQIA+ rights and crisis alleviation.


When things seem unbearable, I can remind myself of why I am working full-time while in college, why I strive so enthusiastically for good grades, and why I am in the McNair program. I am going working so hard right now so I can in turn offer my time and passion to better the lives of queer people who share many unique struggles.


The most prevalent take-aways from the last few months include noting the strength and resilience of a college student in 2020, the value of having goals to fall back on amidst forced flexibility and trauma, and the magnitude of attitude when the going gets tough. I am grateful to be in the McNair program.




22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page